10 January, 2014

"Her" wins Best Picture from the Georgia Film Critics Association

"Gravity," "12 Years a Slave" and the Spike Jonze love story each won three awards; "American Hustle" recognized for Best Ensemble.

Joaquin Phoenix stars in "Her," winner of the 2013 Georgia Film Critics
Award for Best Picture.

The Georgia Film Critics Association has wrapped up their third year by announcing the winners for their 2013 awards. "12 Years a Slave" led the nominations with ten mentions earlier this week, but it was "Her" that won the top prize. Spike Jonze wasn't even nominated for Best Director, but did win an award for Best Original Screenplay, as did Arcade Fire for the film's score. "Gravity" and "12 Years a Slave" also won three awards each. Alfonso Cuarón won Best Director for "Gravity" and the film also snagged Best Cinematography and Production Design awards. "12 Years a Slave" won three acting awards—Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor, Best Supporting Actor for Michael Fassbender and Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong'o—but lost Best Ensemble to "American Hustle."

The Best Ensemble award marks the only win for "American Hustle," after earning seven nominations. Also with seven nods, "Inside Llewyn Davis" only took home one—Best Original Song. Despite its use of sampling disqualifying the track from Academy Award consideration, the GFCA obviously sees no problem with the song. "Short Term 12" won for Best Adapted Screenplay and star Brie Larson won the Breakthrough Award—although credit is not directly given to any of her films in particular.

Other winners include Cate Blanchett as Best Actress in "Blue Jasmine," "No" as Best Foreign Film, "Stories We Tell" as Best Documentary and "Frozen" as Best Animated Feature. "The Spectacular Now" was honored with the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema, a special recognition for the year's best feature or short film produced in Georgia.

Check out the full list of winners after the jump.

Best Picture
  • "Her"
Best Director
  • "Gravity" - Alfonso Cuarón
Best Actor
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor ("12 Years a Slave")
Best Actress
  • Cate Blanchett ("Blue Jasmine")
Best Supporting Actor
  • Michael Fassbender ("12 Years a Slave")
Best Supporting Actress
  • Lupita Nyong'o ("12 Years a Slave")
Best Original Screenplay
  • "Her" - Spike Jonze
Best Adapted Screenplay
  • "Short Term 12" - Destin Cretton
Best Cinematography
  • "Gravity" - Emmanuel Lubezki
Best Production Design
  • "Gravity" - Andy Nicholson
Best Original Score
  • "Her" - Arcade Fire
Best Original Song
  • "Please Mr. Kennedy" - T Bone Burnett, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, George Cromarty, Ed Rush, Justin Timberlake ("Inside Llewyn Davis")
Best Ensemble
  • "American Hustle"
Best Foreign Film
  • "No"
Breakthrough Award
  • Brie Larson ("Don Jon," "Short Term 12," "The Spectacular Now")
Best Animated Film
  • "Frozen"
Best Documentary
  • "Stories We Tell"
Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
  • "The Spectacular Now" - James Ponsoldt, Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber

1 comment:

  1. "Despite it's use of sampling..."
    "It's" is the contraction of "it is" or "it has". The possessive that should have been used is "its".