05 January, 2015

Georgia Film Critics Reveal Nominees for 2014 Awards

"Birdman" narrowly leads nominations; "Ida," "Nightcrawler," "Snowpiercer," "Under the Skin," make a splash across the board.

Most critics groups have had their say already, but the Georgia Film Critics Association doesn't mind giving themselves time to think about their top picks of the year. This is their fourth year handing out best-of designations.

"Birdman" leads the pack with seven nominations, but "Boyhood," "Gone Girl," "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and Georgia-lensed "Selma" are all close by with six mentions each (not counting the individuals mentioned for Breakthrough Award).

Perhaps most noteworthy is the dominance of "Nightcrawler" (with five nods), "Snowpiercer" (with four nods) and "Ida" (with three nods)—all including Best Picture. Foreign films "Force Majeure" and "Two Days, One Night" pop up in the Best Actress category. Documentaries garner several mentions outside their own category, with "Sepideh" receiving a Foreign Film nod, "Life Itself" mentioned in Best Score, and both "Glen Campbell: I'll Be Me" and "Virunga" earning Best Original Song nominations.

"Calvary" earned a rogue screenplay nomination, as did "Wild" and "The Imitation Game." There was plenty of love for "Inherent Vice," "Interstellar" and "Under the Skin"—each receiving three nominations.

Several of these films were found on the Georgia film festival circuit this year. "Whiplash," "Two Days, One Night," "Foxcatcher," "The Imitation Game," "Life Itself," "Glen Campbell: I'll Be Me," "Finding Vivian Maier," "Keep On Keepin' On," "Big Hero 6" and "The Book of Life" all featured at the Savannah Film Festival. "Ida" played at the Atlanta Jewish Film Festival early in the year.

Winners will be announced on Friday, January 9th. Check out the full list of nominees after the jump.

Best Picture
  • "Birdman"
  • "Boyhood"
  • "Gone Girl"
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel"
  • "Ida"
  • "A Most Violent Year"
  • "Nightcrawler"
  • "Selma"
  • "Snowpiercer"
  • "Whiplash"

Best Director
  • "Boyhood" - Richard Linklater
  • "Gone Girl" - David Fincher
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Wes Anderson
  • "Selma" - Ava DuVernay
  • "Whiplash" - Damien Chazelle

Best Actor
  • Ralph Fiennes ("The Grand Budapest Hotel")
  • Jake Gyllenhaal ("Nightcrawler")
  • Michael Keaton ("Birdman")
  • David Oyelowo ("Selma")
  • Eddie Redmayne ("The Theory of Everything")

Best Actress
  • Marion Cotillard ("Two Days, One Night")
  • Scarlett Johansson ("Under the Skin")
  • Felicity Jones ("The Theory of Everything")
  • Lisa Loven Kongsli ("Force Majeure")
  • Julianne Moore ("Still Alice")
  • Rosamund Pike ("Gone Girl")

Best Supporting Actor
  • Riz Ahmed ("Nightcrawler")
  • Ethan Hawke ("Boyhood")
  • Edward Norton ("Birdman")
  • Mark Ruffalo ("Foxcatcher")
  • J.K. Simmons ("Whiplash")

Best Supporting Actress
  • Patricia Arquette ("Boyhood")
  • Jessica Chastain ("A Most Violent Year")
  • Rene Russo ("Nightcrawler")
  • Emma Stone ("Birdman")
  • Tilda Swinton ("Snowpiercer")

Best Original Screenplay
  • "Boyhood" - Richard Linklater
  • "Calvary" - John Michael McDonagh
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Wes Anderson, Hugo Guinness
  • "Nightcrawler" - Dan Gilroy
  • "Selma" - Paul Webb

Best Adapted Screenplay
  • "Gone Girl" - Gillian Flynn
  • "The Imitation Game" - Graham Moore, Andrew Hodges
  • "Inherent Vice" - Paul Thomas Anderson, Thomas Pynchon
  • "Snowpiercer" - Bong Joon-ho, Kelly Masterson, Jacques Lob, Benjamin Legrand, Jean-Marc Rochette
  • "The Theory of Everything" - Anthony McCarten, Jane Wilde Hawking
  • "Wild" - Nick Hornby, Cheryl Strayed

Best Cinematography
  • "Birdman" - Emmanuel Lubezki
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Robert Yeoman
  • "Ida" - Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski
  • "Inherent Vice" - Robert Elswit
  • "Interstellar" - Hoyte van Hoytema

Best Production Design
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock 
  • "Inherent Vice" - David Crank, Amy Wells 
  • "Interstellar" - Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis 
  • "Into the Woods" - Dennis Gassner, Anna Pinnock 
  • "Snowpiercer" - Ondrej Nekvasil, Catherine George 
  • "Under the Skin" - Chris Oddy, Emer O'Sullivan

Best Original Score
  • "Birdman" - Antonio S├ínchez
  • "Gone Girl" - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
  • "Interstellar" - Hans Zimmer
  • "Life Itself" - Joshua Abrams
  • "Under the Skin" - Mica Levi

Best Original Song
  • "Everything is Awesome" - Shawn Patterson, Joshua Bartholomew, Lisa Harriton, The Lonely Island ("The Lego Movie")
  • "Glory" - John Stephens, Lonnie Lynn, Che Smith ("Selma")
  • "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" - Glen Campbell, Julian Raymond ("Glen Campbell: I'll Be Me")
  • "Something so Right" - Bret McKenzie ("Muppets Most Wanted")
  • "We Will Not Go" - J. Ralph ("Virunga")

Best Ensemble
  • "Birdman"
  • "Boyhood"
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel"
  • "Gone Girl"
  • "Selma"

Best Foreign Film
  • "Force Majeure"
  • "Ida"
  • "Sepideh"
  • "Two Days, One Night"
  • "We Are the Best!"

Breakthrough Award
  • Ellar Coltrane ("Boyhood")
  • Ava DuVernay ("Selma")
  • Gugu Mbatha-Raw ("Belle," "Beyond the Lights")
  • David Oyelowo ("Default," "Interstellar," "A Most Violent Year," "Nightingale," "Selma")
  • Jenny Slate ("The Longest Week," "Obvious Child")
  • Tessa Thompson ("Dear White People," "Grantham & Rose," "Selma")

Best Animated Film
  • "Big Hero 6"
  • "The Book of Life"
  • "The Boxtrolls"
  • "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
  • "The Lego Movie"

Best Documentary
  • "Citizenfour"
  • "Finding Vivian Maier"
  • "Keep On Keepin' On"
  • "Life Itself"
  • "Sepideh"

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
  • To Be Announced.

No comments:

Post a Comment