09 January, 2015

"Boyhood," "Nightcrawler" Win Big as Georgia Film Critics Split the Board

Richard Linklater takes top honors for both Picture and Director; "Nightcrawler," "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and "Selma" all take home two each.

For their 4th annual awards presentation, the Georgia Film Critics Association have decided to distribute the love pretty evenly. Of the ten Best Picture nominees, nine of them took home at least one award.

"Boyhood" took home the big prizes, Best Picture and Best Director for Richard Linklater. "Nightcrawler" won Best Actor for Jake Gyllenhaal and Best Original Screenplay for Dan Gilroy. "The Grand Budapest Hotel" won awards for Best Production Design and Best Ensemble. "Selma" won the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema and Best Original Song for "Glory," performed by John Legend and Common.

Marion Cotillard won Best Actress for "Two Days, One Night," while Tilda Swinton and J.K. Simmons took home Supporting prizes for Best Picture nominated films "Snowpiercer" and "Whiplash," respectively. "Gone Girl" took home Best Adapted Screenplay honors, while "Birdman" won for Best Cinematography (This is Emmanuel Lubeski's third GFCA win, after "The Tree of Life" and "Gravity"). Hans Zimmer's score for "Interstellar" provides the film's sole win out of three nominations.

Best Foreign Film went to "Ida," Best Documentary to "Life Itself" and Best Animated Film to "The LEGO Movie." David Oyelowo won the Breakthrough Award, with all five of his films from 2014 sharing the mention.

Check out the full list of winners after the jump.

Best Picture
  • "Boyhood"
Best Director
  • "Boyhood" - Richard Linklater
Best Actor
  • Jake Gyllenhaal ("Nightcrawler")
Best Actress
  • Marion Cotillard ("Two Days, One Night")
Best Supporting Actor
  • J.K. Simmons ("Whiplash")
Best Supporting Actress
  • Tilda Swinton ("Snowpiercer")
Best Original Screenplay
  • "Nightcrawler" - Dan Gilroy
Best Adapted Screenplay
  • "Gone Girl" - Gillian Flynn
Best Cinematography
  • "Birdman" - Emmanuel Lubezki
Best Production Design
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock 
Best Original Score
  • "Interstellar" - Hans Zimmer
Best Original Song
  • "Glory" - John Stephens, Lonnie Lynn, Che Smith ("Selma")
Best Ensemble
  • "The Grand Budapest Hotel"
Best Foreign Film
  • "Ida"
Breakthrough Award
  • David Oyelowo ("Default," "Interstellar," "A Most Violent Year," "Nightingale," "Selma")
Best Animated Film
  • "The LEGO Movie"
Best Documentary
  • "Life Itself"
Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
  • "Selma"

No comments:

Post a Comment